South Carolina

Association for Pupil Transportation

 Board of Directors

    2018-2019

 

 


A Message from the President:

It is a great privilege to serve as your president of the 2018-2019 term. Thank you for your confidence in me and for your support. Special thanks to our vendors, for without your support we would not be able to provide our members with additional training they receive through our spring, fall and annual conferences.  Once again thank you very much.


The mission is clear. We must establish clear communication between state officials and county officials. We must work together to accomplish a strong partnership between us if we want to make necessary changes in the transportation system which includes changes in current regulations, policies and laws. Together we can provide a strong and efficient school bus driver training program using technology. The same applies to the current route reporting system. With the talent that we have at the local and state level, we should have the best updated routing and training program in the nation. We must work together 

to achieve these goals.


In closing, I want to express how honored I am to serve as your president. I will do my best to ensure that your interests and needs will be my number one priority. Thank you and I will see you at the Fall conference.

Jim Wright

2018-19 President

Executive Director of Transportation

Horry County Schools   

Email: jwright002@horrycountyschools.net

2017-2018 SCAPT President



Herbert McNeil
2018-19 Past-President
Director of Transportation
Marlboro County Schools
Office:843-479-5906
Email:hmcneil@marlboro.k12.sc.us


Theresa Taylor

2018-2019 President-Elect

Director of Transportation

Newberry County Schools

Office: 803-321-1002

Email: ttaylor@newberry.k12.sc.us

At-Large Board Member
Dave Weissman
State At-Large Board Member
Director of Transportation, District 5 of Lexington & Richland County
Office: 803-476-4980

REGION DIRECTORS
Region 1 Board Director
Region 1: William "Jeff" Scott - email: william_scott@charleston.k12.sc.us
Jeff Scott is currently the Executive Director of Transportation for the Charleston County School District. He serves as Director for Region 1 which serves Berkeley, Dorchester and Charleston counties. 
Region 2 Board Director
Region 2: Rob Rickenbacker - email: rricken@ed.sc.gov
Rob Rickenbacker is currently the County Supervisor for the Orangeburg School Bus Shop. He serves as Director for Region 2 which serves Calhoun, Clarendon, Lee, Orangeburg, Sumter and Williamsburg counties. 
                                           Region 3 Board Director
Region 3: Karen Wilson- email:  kmwilson@gcsd.k12.sc.us.
Karen Wilson is a Transportation Manager for Georgetown County School District. She currently serves Region (3) which includes Georgetown, Dillion, Horry and Marion counties.
Region 4 Board Director
Region 4: John Young - email: jyoung@marlboro.k12.sc.us

John Young is currently a Transportation Assistant for Marlboro County Schools. He currently serves Region 4 which includes Chesterfield, Florence, Marlboro and Darlington counties.


Region 5 Board Director
Region 5 : Bernard Gill- email: jgill@rhmail.org

He is currently the Director of Transportation in the Rock Hill School District and has over 9 years’ experience as a Director of Transportation.  He serves Region 5 which includes, York, Chester, Fairfield, Richland, Lancaster, and Kershaw counties. 

Region 6 Board Director
Region 6: David Poag- email: dpoag@greenville.k12.sc.us
David Poag is currently the Coordinator of Routing and Scheduling for Greenville County School District . He serves Region 6 which includes Anderson, Abbeville, Greenville, Oconee, McCormick and Pickens counties.
Region 7 Board Director
Region 7: Ryan Cothran- email: ryan.cothran@spart5.net
Ryan Cothran is currently the Director of Public Safety and Transportation for Spartanburg County School District 5. He serves Region 7 which includes Cherokee, Greenwood, Laurens, Newberry, Spartanburg, and Union counties.
Region 8 Board Director
Region 8: George Blackkwell - email: gblackwell@lexington1.net 
George Blackwell is currently the Transportation Coordinator for Lexington County School District One. He serves Region 8 which includes Aiken, Bamburg, Barnwell, Edgefield, Lexington, and Saluda counties.

Region 9 Board Director
Region 9: Thomas Orr- email: Thomas.orr@jcsd.net
Thomas Orr is currently Transportation Supervisor for Jasper County School District. He serves Region 9 which includes Allendale, Beaufort, Colleton, Hampton, and Jasper counties.


Board of Directors Support Staff
2017-2018 SCAPT Vendor Liaison
Vendor Liaison: William(Bill) Kurts- email: wkurts@lexington1.net
Historian: Lamar Atkins- email: LJ48@FTC-I.net 
Legislative Liaison: Ronny Townsend- email: pssrusty@hughes.net
        
                                Road-E-O: Dennis Jones- email: djones@richland2.org
Secretary: Adrianne Bazemore abazemore@lexington1.net